Wolf Pups Educational Facts

Discuss wolves (news, sightings, etc.).

Moderators: Isela, Koa

Sintact

Wolf Pups Educational Facts

Post by Sintact » Thu Jan 21, 2010 6:37 pm

Since I have seen a lot of questions about pups around, and in the users writers I also see that many individuals don't really know how wolf pups develope, I decided to make this topic for posting some facts. Please note that I'm not that experienced with wolves, if I have wrong information don't hesitate in correcting me. I'm ready for future discussions.

Wolf Pup Developement - General Facts

---> When the moment comes the pups are born after 60-65 days of gestation inside the mother. The litter is conformed usually from four to six pups, the pups only weith one pound more less and they are born with their eyes closed. In this time the wolf mother will be alone in a den (small place where there's barely enough space for an adult wolf and the pups) for several days, they will not let other wolves from the pack come in.

---> After two weeks the pups open their eyes and they start to walk (or try to), what they eat is only milk from the mother. Pup's eyes are going to be of a dark blue (which this color will disappear when they grow).

---> When they are three weeks the milk teeth start to appear, exploring the den is always a fun activity and excercise for the pups, that's why at this age, and because they are now strong enough, they walk around inside the den.