Page 1 of 1

WQ3 loading screen takes forever?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 7:07 am
by x1103
Now I have never in my life seen such beautiful nature images, especially in a game's loading screen, but uh this has taken a while... I am trying the game for the first time with a gaming laptop I got today. It has all the "recommended" specs. So is this supposed to happen or is something wrong? I haven't taken time but it'd guess it is close to 10-15 minutes now... which is quite long imo. :shock:

Not sure if it's okay to post this here, sorry if it is the wrong place.

Edit: Okay the game started now, but the question still remains, is it normal for it to take that long? It's cool if yes I just want to know. :D

Re: WQ3 loading screen takes forever?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 8:45 am
by PearlyReborn
The first time I ever loaded the game up it took forever, but since then it's been faster. That might be the case for you. Try loading it up again and see if it has improved.

Re: WQ3 loading screen takes forever?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:23 am
by paperpaws
This issue is one that has been commonly reported so far (and one I believe will be fixed soon).
One workaround is to make sure you initially load the game on the lowest possible graphical settings (you can change them to whatever you like in the game menu afterwards).

If you cannot change the graphics quality anymore and you're on Windows, try the following instructions courtesy of SolitaryHowl:
- Go into Windows's search bar and type in Registry Editor / press the Windows key + R and type in "regedit" to open the registry editor;
- Navigate to this file path: Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\eduweb\WolfQuest: Anniversary Edition;
- Under 'UnityGraphicsQuality_h1669003810', under 'value' type in 1. Then click ok. Restart computer.

Let us know if the above is of any use!

Re: WQ3 loading screen takes forever?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:03 am
by Fenrir1105
I too have dealt with this issue as well, and I have an AMD Ryzen 5 1500x CPU, 24GB Ram, and a 1050 Ti.

Re: WQ3 loading screen takes forever?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 6:58 pm
by amethystrose
I am also having issues staring WolfQuest 3..

After a long waiting time of trying to get the game to run normally, in which case, it doesn't.. Whenever I get close to actually running the game, it gets stuck on a certain screen. It appears to be the new Amethyst Mountain Map, and it will not run any further than that..


Here is a screenshot of what I'm talking about:

Image

Will this be fixed in the future?

Re: WQ3 loading screen takes forever?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:43 pm
by Koa
Please make sure your read paperpaw's post: you need to follow the steps listed there. The issue does seem to plague even good computers that would otherwise be able to handle WolfQuest, so having your settings start off on low is really important regardless.

And yes, Dave said this issue would be fixed in the most recent blog post.

Re: WQ3 loading screen takes forever?

Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 5:33 am
by amethystrose
Koa wrote:
Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:43 pm
Please make sure your read paperpaw's post: you need to follow the steps listed there. The issue does seem to plague even good computers that would otherwise be able to handle WolfQuest, so having your settings start off on low is really important regardless.

And yes, Dave said this issue would be fixed in the most recent blog post.
Okay. Thanks for letting me know. Also, I did read Paperpaw's post and I followed all the steps provided.. But nothing worked for me sadly. But I'll keep up to date on things and see if anything gets better.

Re: WQ3 loading screen takes forever?

Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 9:47 am
by Jadeye
paperpaws wrote:
Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:23 am
This issue is one that has been commonly reported so far (and one I believe will be fixed soon).
One workaround is to make sure you initially load the game on the lowest possible graphical settings (you can change them to whatever you like in the game menu afterwards).

If you cannot change the graphics quality anymore and you're on Windows, try the following instructions courtesy of SolitaryHowl:
- Go into Windows's search bar and type in Registry Editor / press the Windows key + R and type in "regedit" to open the registry editor;
- Navigate to this file path: Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\eduweb\WolfQuest: Anniversary Edition;
- Under 'UnityGraphicsQuality_h1669003810', under 'value' type in 1. Then click ok. Restart computer.

Let us know if the above is of any use!
That incredibly dangerous. If someone makes a mistake there, your entire computer will be dead, all data that isn't backed up gone, and you will have to reinstall your entire operating system.

I can tell you from experience that even messing with things that seems small and unrelated will still be a risk. If you are desperate to play the game and must try this, backup everything first. Have a os installer on hand.
There is a reason every IT only messes with the registry if it is the only liable solution left