How to Find Your Output Log for Windows OS

This section is for User Guides relating to the WQ Game. Read the User Guide Rules and Guide Index before posting.

Moderator: Neamara

Forum rules
Read the User Guide Rules and Guide Index before posting.
User avatar
Rikkuzilla
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 4140
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:12 pm
Name: Rikku
Gender: Female
Location: Stuck in the 80s.
Contact:

How to Find Your Output Log for Windows OS

Post by Rikkuzilla » Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:59 pm

◆ Finding Your Output Log ◆
Image
Image
Image
The areas highlighted in yellow show the directory path to follow to get to your output_log. However, if you use Vista or Windows 7, please read the next section below, as you may be required to do an extra step before you'll be able to see your output_log in the data folder.

◆ Vista and Windows 7 - Run As Administrator ◆
Image
What do you mean "Run As Administrator"?
WolfQuest Community members who run Vista or Windows 7 may have had difficulty finding their output logs at first, thanks to some default security settings with these two operating systems. In simple terms, these setting will prevent your output log from showing up in your WolfQuest data folder. A quick and simple way to fix this problem, without manually lowering your overall security settings on your computer is to right click on your WolfQuest desktop game icon, and Run as Administrator. Once you have selected this, your output log should now show up in the data folder the next time your start WolfQuest. ** This is not necessary for Window XP users. **

Note: If you are not the computer administrator (on a family computer) and/or have computer restrictions---then be sure to get your parent/guardian or the computer administrator to enable this for you.

◆ An Example of an Output Log File ◆
Image
This is an example of what an output log looks like when opened up in notepad, wordpad; whatever you like to use to view documents. The areas highlighted in blue will show your computer's graphics card, version of Direct3D, VRAM, and computer resolution. Obviously, in this particular screenshot these specs have been removed and edited for the FAQ, as each user will have different information at the top of their output log. However, these specs are essential (as well as your OS) when you are submitting a bug report. Be sure to submit the ENTIRE output log file when submitting a bug report.

We really want and need our members to include their output logs when reporting multiplayer abuse or bugs & glitches--so please make sure you include them in those bug reports or multiplayer chat abuse emails!
Last edited by Rikkuzilla on Fri Mar 04, 2011 4:01 am, edited 15 times in total.
Reason: Updating thread to help with new bug contest
:pawprint: WolfQuest: Undine Falls Pack Discord :pawprint:
**You must know a current member that uses the server to join.**

User avatar
SolitaryHowl
Skilled Hunter
Skilled Hunter
Posts: 6264
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
Gender: Female
Location: Canada

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by SolitaryHowl » Sat Jun 13, 2009 9:22 pm

I also have a 'directory tree' of sorts to find your output log on a Mac OSX Tiger. The original instructions led me nowhere.

Applications > Utilities > Console > Logs > Libary/Logs > Unity > Player.log
Former WolfQuest Moderator. 2009 - 2011

Avatar is copyright Koa

Alpha Aleu
Hunter-in-training
Hunter-in-training
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:49 am

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by Alpha Aleu » Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:51 am

Thanks for telling us, Rikku!!
Avatar by Quacky!!

Sarcastic
Utterly Great
Naughty ( :evil: )
Beautiful
Energetic
Artistic
Mystical

Sunbeam, Alpha of Blossom Wolves.

-----Aloha Aleu-----

User avatar
West
Yearling
Yearling
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:17 am
Gender: Other
Location: SPARTA!!!!!!!
Contact:

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by West » Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:40 pm

That's good to know Rikku! Now people who use those computers will know how to get the log info stuff, whatever you call it. Also, Thanks SolitaryHowl2008! That type of computer is the only working one I have to use right now, and telling how to do that with it, is good help! Thanks.
~West
Sometimes I just don't know what avatar to wear.
Avatar is 100% © me, I made up the creature, and drew all of it, so no stealing.

User avatar
Rikkuzilla
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 4140
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:12 pm
Name: Rikku
Gender: Female
Location: Stuck in the 80s.
Contact:

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by Rikkuzilla » Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:28 am

I was primarily using XP for the longest time and never used WQ on Vista, so I was unaware of the problem. Then I noticed so many Vista users were having trouble accessing their logs, and decided to look into it.

Hope it will help people out with bug/glitch reports and reporting inappropriate chat in multiplayer. (^_-)v
:pawprint: WolfQuest: Undine Falls Pack Discord :pawprint:
**You must know a current member that uses the server to join.**

User avatar
paperpaws
Former WQ Moderator
Posts: 4427
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by paperpaws » Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:50 am

Hey, thanks! Was just looking for the output thing today!

Kipcha28
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 547
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:21 am
Gender: Female
Location: Probably at my computer.

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by Kipcha28 » Thu Jun 18, 2009 6:57 pm

Thanks for the helpful post! I, too, had been mainly using an XP. Now that computer went bad, and my personal XP doesn't have enough RAM, so I'm stuck with a Vista laptop for now. I could never find it - thanks!

That "this thread is set to unsticky itself" sounds like one of those "this message will destroy itself" things you see in movies. :P
██████████████

User avatar
Balto96
Pup
Pup
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 11:47 am
Location: In SPAAAAAAAAACE

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by Balto96 » Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 pm

I can't find the Administrator thingy whatever you said in it. I right clicked Wolf Quest. No Administerator Thingy! Can someone please help? I use XP on this computer. What do I do? I try playing Multiplayer. But it says that it can't find my account. Or whatever... But still! You understand, RIGHT???? :( :cry:

User avatar
SolitaryHowl
Skilled Hunter
Skilled Hunter
Posts: 6264
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
Gender: Female
Location: Canada

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by SolitaryHowl » Tue Jun 23, 2009 5:12 am

Balto96 wrote:I can't find the Administrator thingy whatever you said in it. I right clicked Wolf Quest. No Administerator Thingy! Can someone please help? I use XP on this computer. What do I do? I try playing Multiplayer. But it says that it can't find my account. Or whatever... But still! You understand, RIGHT???? :( :cry:
Those instructions are for Vista. You have XP, so the instructions on this thread won't work for you.

Try to download the new version, it's supposed to fix that problem.
Former WolfQuest Moderator. 2009 - 2011

Avatar is copyright Koa

User avatar
Balto96
Pup
Pup
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 11:47 am
Location: In SPAAAAAAAAACE

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by Balto96 » Thu Jun 25, 2009 5:50 pm

Oh.... So I just re-download the game? :?

User avatar
Rikkuzilla
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 4140
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:12 pm
Name: Rikku
Gender: Female
Location: Stuck in the 80s.
Contact:

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by Rikkuzilla » Fri Jun 26, 2009 9:19 am

Balto96 wrote:Oh.... So I just re-download the game? :?
No, you do not need to re-download the game. This is something do in Windows Vista (or Windows 7) if you wish to access your output_log.

If you are having difficulty understanding the instructions, please get a parent or guardian to assist you.

Here's a visual for those who have trouble understanding what I'm talking about:

http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae10 ... ssions.png

http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae10 ... utlog1.png
:pawprint: WolfQuest: Undine Falls Pack Discord :pawprint:
**You must know a current member that uses the server to join.**

User avatar
SolitaryHowl
Skilled Hunter
Skilled Hunter
Posts: 6264
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
Gender: Female
Location: Canada

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by SolitaryHowl » Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:32 pm

Balto96 wrote:Oh.... So I just re-download the game? :?
Yes, you do. Make sure to uninstall the old one, though.

Rikku: Balto96 has windows XP, so your instructions won't work for him...
Former WolfQuest Moderator. 2009 - 2011

Avatar is copyright Koa

User avatar
Rikkuzilla
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 4140
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:12 pm
Name: Rikku
Gender: Female
Location: Stuck in the 80s.
Contact:

Re: Tip: OutPut Log Access on Windows Vista

Post by Rikkuzilla » Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:38 pm

SolitaryHowl2008 wrote:
Balto96 wrote:Oh.... So I just re-download the game? :?
Yes, you do. Make sure to uninstall the old one, though.

Rikku: Balto96 has windows XP, so your instructions won't work for him...
Riiiight. Balto96's issue is completely unrelated to this topic--hence why I suggested he get a parent to help him read instructions and what not. This thread is intended for Vista users trying to acquire their output logs, as stated in the title & description--not about multiplayer log in issues. Please use this thread for that:
http://www.wolfquest.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=21777

The output_log in Windows XP shows up automatically in the Program Files/WolfQuest/Data folder....since there are no security issues to work around.
:pawprint: WolfQuest: Undine Falls Pack Discord :pawprint:
**You must know a current member that uses the server to join.**

User avatar
WQ Coordinator
Former WQ Team Member
Former WQ Team Member
Posts: 5586
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:11 pm
Gender: Female
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: OutPut Log Access on Windows OS

Post by WQ Coordinator » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:03 am

It'll be great to have a comprehensive list on how to find the output log, no matter what computer or operating system you're using. Thanks! Let me know when it's complete so I can post the link in the 'Squash the Bugs' contest page... you only have a couple weeks! ;)
Thanks for the avatar, Silverness!

I am no longer the acting administrator of these forums, so please read the WolfQuest FAQ and Tips, Hints, and Help forums for answers to any questions you may have.

Thandi
Adult Wolf
Adult Wolf
Posts: 1172
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:45 pm
Gender: Female
Location: scrawling love into trees

Re: OutPut Log Access on Windows OS (Updating 2/13/2011)

Post by Thandi » Mon Feb 14, 2011 2:43 pm

Wow, thanks for this guide Rikku, now all I have to do is to show this to my computer tech person to see if it applies to my computer. (:
everything out of the ordinary is considered weird, i try to stay clear of the eathlings and their fears

Locked

Return to “User Guides- The Game”